At Hellingly School we follow the Kent scheme of work. It has been developed to ensure coverage of the curriculum, and doing in this in such a manner that children will be engaged and enjoying their learning. The scheme of work is invaluable for supporting teachers with their lesson planning. In accordance with the guidance in the new National Curriculum, this scheme has clearly indicated a progression in the key scientific knowledge and concepts, from Year 1 to Year 6.

National Curriculum

We use the Chris Quigley learning objectives to structure our lessons.

Here is a link to the National Curriculum for Science.

Curriculum Map

Year Group Term 1 Term 2 Term 3 Term 4 Term 5 Term 6
Year 1
Milestone 1
Seasonal change Animals including humans Everyday materials Plants
Year 2
Milestone 1
Animals including humans Animals including humans Uses of everyday materials Plants Electricity All living things and their habitats
Year 3
Milestone 2
Plants Plants Forces and magnets Light Rocks Light Animals including humans
Year 4
Milestone 2
Sound States of matter Animals including humans Animals including humans Electricity All living things
Year 5
Milestone 3
Forces All living things Earth and Space Properties and changes of materials Separating materials Life cycles
Year 6
Milestone 3
Electricity Light All living things Evolution and inheritance Animals including humans Animals including humans